top of page

Virtual Maple Blues Award Winners: Vancouver Edition

Four Final Trophies Awarded to Halifax, Hamilton, and Montreal Nominees!

Calgary’s Cindy McLeod Honoured with John Valenteyn Blues Booster Award

The 24th Maple Blues Awards streamed from Blue Frog Studios in White Rock, Vancouver, celebrating John Valenteyn Blues Booster, New Artist, Male Vocalists, and Horn Players. Hosted by Jim Byrnes and Dalannah Gail Bowen, the half-hour show announced four MBA winners, in the final Maple Blues Awards session for this year. East-Coast blues belter Matt Andersen was announced as the winner of the Male Vocalist of the Year while Hamilton's The Smoke Wagon Blues Band won the New Artist/Group of the Year. Calgary's Cindy McLeod was honoured with the John Valenteyn Blues Booster of the Year award, a very special Maple Blues Award recognizing outstanding achievement in the blues music scene in Canada. A tie win was announced for Horn Player of the Year for Mark LeClerc and Mat "Moose" Mousseau, both of Montreal. The evening featured a special rare outdoor performance of "Wipe My Weeping Eyes" from 14-year old Liam Docherty, recorded on Vancouver Island. Lindsay Beaver performed her song "See You Again'', recorded for the Maple Blues Awards from Darthmouth, NS.

The last segment of the 24th Annual Maple Blues Awards was streamed at 8:00 PM Eastern via Facebook here and on Toronto Blues Society's YouTube channel here. All sessions are available to replay on both of these channels. Download the Maple Blues Awards’ digital program PDF here. For more information contact: Sarah French Sarah French Publicity 416-566-4188 | Hüma Üster Toronto Blues Society 416-538-3885 |


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page